What I Learned When I Started Loving Myself

Image by: Roseannastorie

For most of my teenage years, I struggled with how I saw myself. I would avoid any reflection, decision-making situations, and anything that showed off ME. While body image was one issue I faced, it felt deeper than that; I believed there was something intrinsically wrong with my being.

Over the last couple of years, I tried to change my habits, thought processes and activities to consequently change the perception I had of myself. It was a learning process full of many highs and lows, but I think it’s finally paying off.

When I take the time to reflect on this journey it always takes me by surprise how I used to treat myself and the beliefs I used to hold. I have found it helpful in low times to remind myself of the lessons I have learned in hopes of reminding myself how far I’ve come. 

7 things I learnt when I started to love myself

1. I used to hold the belief that to love myself, I had to have validation from someone else. Now, I know by loving myself first, I can give more love to everyone around me!

2. When I started to love myself, I started to care what I did with my body and what I put inside it.

3. I learned a new language; my self-love language. I learned how to speak to myself with kind words and respect what my body does for me.

4. Through this journey, I have realised that I could have fun with myself and enjoy my own company.

5. I learnt how to trust and forgive myself for the past, whether the mistakes were my own or not.

6. I learnt how to celebrate myself.

7. I learnt how to listen. I don’t push my body or mind too far; I know my limits and when I need to step away from a situation.

There are some days I struggle still, and in these moments, I use affirmations to remind myself of my worth. I repeat them whenever I catch myself thinking negatively, or each morning in my gratitude journal!

Here are my favourite self-love affirmations that help me through those down days:

– Perfection is a perception

– I am worthy

– I don’t need any external validation to love myself

– I am enough.

– I am grateful for my journey

– I am grateful for my healing

– Happiness flows to me

– I radiate positive energy!

– I give myself an abundance of love!

– My voice is valuable, and I spread gratitude

– I forgive myself of my wrongdoings, I am human, and I am growing

– I’m exactly who I am meant to be

– I’m at peace with my physical body

– Every being is unique and beautiful; including me!

– I respect my limitations and boundaries

– My inner beauty is shining!

Thank you for sticking with me till the end. I hope you take something away from this and find the power in self-love! I also want to say a quick thank you to Freya & El for sharing their space on the internet with me!


Ellie-Louise is a blogger, freelance writer and founder of Ellie’s Entries – a wellness and mental health blog.

Instagram: @el_baux

Blog: https://elliedesbaux.wixsite.com/elliesentries/blog

Photo by: @roseannastorie

Leave a comment